4 most common things people say right before they die: cancer doc

James Julian
4 min readJun 18, 2024

I think some of the wisest people on the planet are probably those who are about to die.

There are just a handful of truly momentous events in life that have the potential to completely change your perspective on, well … everything.

The only one I’ve experienced thus far is having kids.

It’s been 14 years since I drove my first-born son home from the hospital, yet I can picture it with razor-sharp clarity still, like it happened just yesterday.

Something just clicked and my brain acknowledged an undeniable fact: literally everything has just changed and it’s never going back.

Over the ensuing years, a lot of the stress I previously felt about things like work, for example, faded away as a new perspective set in.

The first time your child gets seriously ill, you realize a freeing truth.

There are very few things that actually matter in the grand scheme of things.

I work hard at my job because:

  1. I want to keep said job, ergo I must be valuable to my employer
  2. I want to maintain my own self-respect

But have I lost a wink of sleep over work drama since my sons were born?

Not even 1 second.

The older you get, the more clarity you develop on what really matters in life. (Licensed by the author under the Unsplash+ License)

--

--